Segovia

 

 

It is located in the middle. Precisely in the autonomous region of Castile Leon, Spain. In 2003, this city had a population of 54,945 people with an area of 163.6 km². This city is located in the northern part of Madrid. In the history of Segovia there are three cathedrals, the oldest known as primitive and located on the banks of the Eresma river, was destroyed during the Arian persecution of 516.

Tourist attractions in Segovia

Cathedral, known as the old one, built by King Alfonso VII (1126-1157) in Romanesque style and consecrated in 1228, was located in the vicinity of the current Alcazar, in what now occupies the gardens antecedent to the castle. The cathedral had three naves, a transept and a Gothic cloister of which little remains after its destruction. The current cathedral was built by King Charles I, because the former Romanesque built by Alfonso VII was destroyed in 1520 during the war of the Community, when the commune troops became strong in the Cathedral, in front of the imperial troops located in the Alcazar, a few meters away. Segovia Cathedral is one of Spain’s later Gothic constructions, as it was built in the Gothic style when the Renaissance style was already beginning to prevail in Spain. The first stone was placed on June 8, 1525. The architect chosen was Juan Gil de Hontañón who realized his project and plans, starting construction under their feet. Juan Gil de Hontañón, who had already worked on the Roman Cathedral previously, enlarging the main apse (1509), died shortly after, because of what happened to his son Rodrigo Gil de Hontañón in 1526. Rodrigo Gil was only three years in charge of the work, although he will return later. He is responsible for the direction of the work of García de Cubillas who has participated in the work since the beginning of Karma.

By 1550 all three naves and their decks had been created, from the foot to the transepts, towers had been  erected to the bell tower, the cloister had been moved from the previous Romanesque cathedral and the chapter house was advanced. In 1559 Garcia Cubillas died and witness of the work was again Rodrigo Gil de Hontañón until his death in 1577. In 1567 the first stone of the transept was laid and the nave was completed, thus opening the cathedral to worship. During this period, the cruise ends and the beginning of the ambulatory dome is reached. The death of Rodrigo Gil de Hontañón in 1577, Juan de Mugaguren happened to him who covered the portico with a dome in the escurialense style, completed the transept arms and built the 1615 neoclassical door of San Frutos.

Política de privacidad   / aviso legal   /   Política de Cookies